Category Archives: Events

Books & Bites Book Club

rollergirlJoin us on the first Friday of every month for our new Fourth and Fifth Grade Book Club! Read and come discuss the Newbery Award Honor graphic novel Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson, do an activity related to the book, and enjoy tasty treats. This book is a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby–perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile!

Friday March 4, 2016 from 3:30 to 4:30pm. Conference Room, Mill Valley Public Library.

Grades 4 & 5 only. Advance registration required. Click here to register. Please register for each book club session separately.

Come back on the first Friday of every month for more Books & Bites! You can also register here for Better Nate than Ever by Tim Federle on April 1.

So what’s this book about?

For most of her twelve years, Astrid has done everything with her best friend Nicole. But after Astrid falls in love with roller derby and signs up for derby camp, Nicole decides to go to dance camp instead. And so begins the most difficult summer of Astrid’s life as she struggles to keep up with the older girls at camp, hang on to the friend she feels slipping away, and cautiously embark on a new friendship. As the end of summer nears and her first roller derby bout (and junior high!) draws closer, Astrid realizes that maybe she is strong enough to handle the bout, a lost friendship, and middle school… in short, strong enough to be a roller girl.

In this graphic novel debut that earned a Newbery Honor and five starred reviews, real-life derby girl Victoria Jamieson has created an inspiring coming-of-age story about friendship, perseverance, and girl power!

Sunday Special: Hansel & Gretel

hansel___gretel_by_toku84-d5f52heThe San Francisco Opera presents: Sing a Story, Hansel and Gretel
Sunday, March 6 from 11:00 to 11:45am
Cost: FREE
Location: Main Reading Room, Mill Valley Public Library

All Ages – No sign-up needed

Young imaginations take flight in this award-winning, interactive program. A professional opera singer will engage children in the musical telling of Hansel and Gretel magically unveiling props and costumes for audience members to help act out the opera and sing excerpts.

Pajama Story Time

pajama-story-timeWednesday, February 10, 6:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Wear your PJs and bring your best stuffed friend to the library for a rousing yet relaxing evening reading of favorite picture books new and old, on the second Wednesday of every month. (All ages, Children’s Room.)

Preschool Music & More

emilyChildren’s Musician Emily Bonn will bring her favorite old-timey, folk and classic children’s songs to create a playful learning environment for children ages 2 to 5. This four-week course nurtures creativity, self-expression, and confidence all while developing singing and rhythm musicality, body awareness and social skills.

Mondays, March 7, 14, 21 and 28, from 11:00 to 11:45 a.m.

Creekside Room. Free! Advance registration and caregiver participation required. Ages 2 to 5 only. Please plan to attend all four meetings. Click here to sign up.

Stories & Science for Kindergartners

paxton_pondweed squareHear sensational stories and perform a hands-on science experiment. Learn about chemical reactions, seeds, light, and engineering! Four sessions: March 10, 17, 24, 31, from 2:00 to 2:45 pm. Please plan to come to all four sessions.

This program is for kindergartners only. Healthy snack provided!

Advance registration required. Register online or call (415) 389-4292 x4.

Picture Books & More: Mystical, Magical Mayhem

DRAGAO-2400pxPicture Books & More is a four-week program especially for first and second graders, held Tuesdays or Wednesdays in March. Each session kids will hear terrific tales of myths and monsters, magic and mayhem; they’ll create wild and wonderful works of art; and they’ll get to eat super snacks and terrific treats!

Tuesdays March 8, 15, 22, and 29 (3:30-4:30)Castle_02.svg
OR
Wednesdays March 9, 16, 23, and 30 (2:30-3:30)

Register online at the links below, call 415-389-4292 x4, or come to the Children’s Room.

Register for the Tuesday 3:30 sessions

Register for the Wednesday 2:30 sessions

February Break at the Library

Hang out at the library during Mid-Winter Break for Game & Puzzle Day and Lego Play Day!

250Make Your Own Wonderbox

February 16 & 18 from 2:30 to 4:30pm
Grades 3 – 5 only. Parents welcome. Advance registration required. Click here to register.

In this two-part series, kids in grades 3 through 5 will each create their own art wonderbox using simple electronics to bring characters to life with sound, lights, and motion. Plan to attend both sessions on February 16 & 18.

Candy-Land-Wallpaper-candy-land-2020333-1024-768Game & Puzzle Day!

Wednesday, February 17, 2:30-4:00pm
All ages – no advance sign-up required.

Roll the dice, spin the spinner, or work a giant floor puzzle. Fun for the whole family!

Lego1Lego Play Day!

Friday, February 19, 2:30-4:00pm
Grades K and up – no advance sign-up required

Did you know that the skills used to build with Legos support problem solving, reading, and creativity? Join us for Lego Play Day. Thanks to the many families whose generous donations of used Legos makes this program possible.

Garden Club

gardener-59727Children in grades kindergarten through third can join The Garden Club this spring! We will meet four times starting Thursday March 10th in the SmartGarden. Every week we’ll do a hands-on activity with garden educator Kier Holmes.

The Garden Club meets four times: March 10, 17, 24, 31 from 3:30 to 4:15pm in the SmartGarden.

Grades K-3 only. Advance sign up required. Click here to sign up.