Category Archives: Events

Winter Craft Programs

Ring in the holidays with cool craft activities at the Library. Stop by for some warm apple cider and seasonal tunes! All events will be held in the Creekside Room of the Library.

poinsettia_collage_craftCreate a Card
Wednesday, December 7, 2:30 – 4:00 p.m.

A time-honored holiday tradition: custom-made greeting cards! We’ll provide the stuff you’ll need to make one-of-a-kind holiday greetings, and you’ll provide the holiday spirit and creative spark. Ages 2-13. No registration required.

BookmarksMake a Gift
Wednesday, December 14, 2:30 – 4:00 p.m.
Give the gift that every reader needs: a unique, hand-crafted bookmark! Make bookmarks for everyone on your gift list and we’ll laminate them for you. Ages 2-13. No registration required.

 

Christmas Gingerbread Man Organic Cookie

Gingerbread Person Party
Wednesday, December 21, 3:30 – 4:15 p.m. (Registration required.)
Listen to the famous tale of a runaway cookie. Catch me if you can and decorate your own sweet holiday treat. Ages 4 and up. Advance registration required. This program is currently full. Click here to be added to the wait list.

Books & Bites: Fourth & Fifth Grade Book Club

becasue-of-mr-teruptJoin us every month for our Fourth and Fifth Grade Book Club! Read and come discuss Because of Mr Terupt by Rob Buyea, do an activity related to the book, and enjoy tasty treats.

Thursday, December 1, 2016 from 3:30 to 4:30pm. Conference Room, Mill Valley Public Library.

Grades 4 & 5 only. Advance registration required. Click here to register.

So what’s this book about?

It’s the start of fifth grade for seven kids at Snow Hill School. There’s . . . Jessica, the new girl, smart and perceptive, who’s having a hard time fitting in; Alexia, a bully, your friend one second, your enemy the next; Peter, class prankster and troublemaker; Luke, the brain; Danielle, who never stands up for herself; shy Anna, whose home situation makes her an outcast; and Jeffrey, who hates school.

Only Mr. Terupt, their new and energetic teacher, seems to know how to deal with them all. He makes the classroom a fun place, even if he doesn’t let them get away with much . . . until the snowy winter day when an accident changes everything—and everyone.

Pajama Story Time

pajama-story-timeWednesday, November 9, 6:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Wear your PJs and bring your best stuffed friend to the library for a rousing yet relaxing evening reading of favorite picture books new and old, on the second Wednesday of every month. (All ages, Children’s Room.)

Sunday Special: Magician Timothy James

571e5266347efSunday, December 4 at 11:00am

Back by popular demand! Magician Timothy James will dazzle the Sunday morning crowd with mind-boggling feats on stage, and make things disappear before your eyes. His magical bag of tricks includes sleight-of-hand, ventriloquism, and comedy!

Main Reading Room, Mill Valley Public Library. All ages. FREE. No registration necessary.

Thanksgiving Break Movies and More

Movies and Game Days are in the Creekside Room.
Free * All Ages * No Sign-up

All events start at 2:30 pm. Free popcorn too!

jungle_book_ver7_xlgMonday, November 21: The Jungle Book (2016) PG, 105 minutes
After a threat from the tiger Shere Khan forces him to flee the jungle, a man-cub named Mowgli embarks on a journey of self discovery with the help of panther, Bagheera, and bear, Baloo.

 

finding-dory-india-international-poster_pixar-postTuesday, Novemeber 22: Finding Dory (2016) PG, 105 minutes
The friendly but forgetful blue tang fish begins a search for her long-lost parents, and everyone learns a few things about the real meaning of family along the way.

 

children-playing-legoWednesday November 23: Lego Play Day!
Get in touch with your inner engineer and build with colorful Legos!

Read to a Dog

SHARE-A-Book Dogs
Saturday, November 26, 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

reading dog 2Kids in kindergarten and older can make 15-minute appointments to read aloud to friendly four-legged friends. It’s a great way to increase confidence and improve read-aloud skills in a fun, relaxed atmosphere. Program takes place in the Children’s Room.

Call (415) 389-4292 x4 or email children@cityofmillvalley.org to register for a 15-minute appointment.

Books & Bites 4th and 5th grade book club

ungiftedJoin us every month for our Fourth and Fifth Grade Book Club! Read and come discuss Ungifted by Gordon Korman, do an activity related to the book, and enjoy tasty treats.

Thursday, November 3, 2016 from 3:30 to 4:30pm. Conference Room, Mill Valley Public Library.

Grades 4 & 5 only. Advance registration required. Click here to register.

So what’s this book about?

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel in which one middle-school troublemaker accidentally moves into the gifted and talented program—and changes everything. For fans of Louis Sachar and Jack Gantos, this funny and touching underdog story is a lovable and goofy adventure with robot fights, middle-school dances, live experiments, and statue-toppling pranks!

When Donovan Curtis pulls a major prank at his middle school, he thinks he’s finally gone too far. But thanks to a mix-up by one of the administrators, instead of getting in trouble, Donovan is sent to the Academy of Scholastic Distinction, a special program for gifted and talented students.

Although it wasn’t exactly what Donovan had intended, the ASD couldn’t be a more perfectly unexpected hideout for someone like him. But as the students and teachers of ASD grow to realize that Donovan may not be good at math or science (or just about anything), he shows that his gifts may be exactly what the ASD students never knew they needed.

Native American Storyteller Alicia Retes

aliciaretes_web_squareSunday Special!

Sunday, November 6, 2016 11:00 AM – 11:45 AM

Alicia will play a variety of indigenous musical instruments and sing original contemporary tri-lingual songs in Coast Miwok, English and Spanish. Alicia will perform a version of the “Three Sisters, Corn, Bean and Squash” using beautiful corn husk puppets that she crafted by hand.

All ages – No sign-up needed

Cost: FREE
Location: Main Reading Room

Reading Buddies – New Session Starting Soon

reading_buddies_web_square_artApplications are now available for our continuing Reading Buddies program, connecting teen volunteers with children to bolster a lifelong love of reading.

How it works: The Reading Buddies program is for children in grades 1 through 4 to practice reading. They will spend five weekly 25-minute sessions with a trained Teen Buddy to read together, play word games, and enhance literacy and the love of reading in a relaxed environment.

Fall 2016 dates for Reading Buddies: Mondays, November 7 – December 12 (no meeting Thanksgiving week). You’ll be assigned a 25-minute time slot (3:30, 4:00 or 4:30). We’ll meet in the Creekside Room at the Library.

To participate, click here to download a Reading Buddies Kid Application. Space is limited. Buddies will be assigned on a first come-first served basis and are subject to teen buddy availability. Submit application at the Children’s Reference Desk.

Any questions? Please call us at (415) 389-4292 x4 or email children@cityofmillvalley.org.

Teens: Click to download a volunteer Reading Buddies teen application.

Pajama Story Time

pajama-story-timeWednesday, October 12, 6:30 – 7:00 p.m.

Wear your PJs and bring your best stuffed friend to the library for a rousing yet relaxing evening reading of favorite picture books new and old, on the second Wednesday of every month. (All ages, Children’s Room.)